What’s your situation? Can you get divorced in California?

>

Residency Requirement

In order to get divorced in Contra Costa County:

  • You must have lived in California for at least 6 months, and
  • You must have lived in Contra Costa County for at least 3 months.
  • If you don’t meet these requirements and still want to get divorced in California, you can file for a Legal Separation and wait until you’ve met the residency requirements.

As an alternative to Divorce – Summary Dissolution – Easier than divorce

If you’ve been married less than 5 years, don’t have many assets, and don’t have children, you may qualify for a Summary Dissolution. For details read this form.

SuperLawyers-RisingStars
Best of the East Bay Attorneys
avvo icon for top attorney
Walnut Creek Chanber of Commerce logo
Christina Weed - Taxation Law Specialist
lawyers of distinction badge 2020

 

Mendes Weed, LLP is located in Walnut Creek and serves clients around the Bay Area. For your convenience, we also have offices in OAKLAND and Sacramento by appointment only.

Se habla español.

Phone: 925.390.3222

Fax: 925.301.8667

 

Send us an email

Walnut Creek Main Office

1990 N. California Boulevard
Suite 1020
Walnut Creek, CA 94596

(925) 390-3222

Oakland Office

66 Franklin Street
Suite 300
Oakland, CA 94607

(510) 822-2770

san francisco Office

95 Third Street
2nd Floor
San Francisco, CA 94103

(628) 216-5558

san Jose Office

3031 Tisch Way
110 Plaza West
San Jose, CA 94607

(408) 707-1667